## **MINUTES**

The regular meeting of the Board of Education, Miller School District #29-4 was held on Monday, March 8, 2021, in the Elementary School Library. The meeting was called to order at 6:35 p.m. by Natalie Bertsch, President of the Board. Other members in attendance were Vance Caffee, Amy Howard, Jonathan Hurd, Rob Mullaney, and Tara Yost. Connie Schroeder was in attendance on Zoom. Also in attendance were Dr. Charlene Crosswait, Superintendent, Steve Schumacher, Jr./Sr. High School Principal, Knute Reierson, Elementary Principal, Dr. Kim Cypher, Special Education Director and Sara Gates, Business Manager, John Page, Katie Otteson, Jennifer Gibson, and Heather Odden.

Motion by Yost, second by Howard to approve the board agenda as amended. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Mullaney to approve the Consent Agenda Items.

- 1. Minutes of the February 8, 2021 Regular Meeting
- 2. Minutes of the February 17, 2021 Special Meeting
- 3. Payment of presented bills
- 4. Financial Report
- 5. Surplus items-teacher desk & 22 blue chairs
- 6. Homeschooled Student

All voting aye.

Motion by Yost, second by Howard to approve the request from the HHM Crossfires JO Volleyball teams to use the armory gym for practices in March and April and to waive the fees for this use. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Caffee to recognize the Miller Education Association as the official bargaining organization for the 2021-2022 negotiations. All voting aye.

Discussion on COVID.

Motion by Schroeder to continue the mask mandate. There was no second, motion failed.

Motion by Yost, second by Mullaney to approve that we return to highly recommending masks. If there is a positive case of COVID in the building, we will return to a mask mandate for 5 school days. Roll call vote. Voting aye: Bertsch, Caffee, Howard, Hurd, Mullaney, and Yost. Voting Nay: Schroeder

Motion by Howard, second by Hurd to approve the amended calendar for the 2021-2022 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Caffee, second by Mullaney to approve Nehemia Volquardsen as volunteer Golf Coach for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Caffee to approve the RFQ from G&R Controls under the Design Build Process. Roll call vote. Voting aye: Bertsch, Caffee, Howard, Hurd, Mullaney, Schroeder, and Yost.

Regular Meeting March 8, 2021 Page 2

Motion by Howard, second by Yost to approve the request from the Miller Swim Club to use the school facilities for meetings and dryland workouts during the spring of 2020-2021 and waive the fees for this use. All voting aye.

Knute Reierson, Elementary Principal, reported on celebrations of twins and triplets, FFA petting zoo, lego contest, and elementary student council bake sale.

Steve Schumacher, Jr./Sr. High School Principal, reported on the National Honor Society. The new members are Regan DeBoer, Cynthia Ford, Jenna Fulton, Emily Gibson, Alana Howard, Sara Jessen, Noah Johnson, Andrew Knox, Taya Pawlowski, and Taylor Wetz. Current members are Kathryn Aymar, Alvena Batin, Kaia Heilman, and Macie Werdel. He also congratulated Kellan Hurd for placing fourth at state wrestling. He also reported that the SDHSAA gives achievement awards each semester and he reported that boys and girls cross country, volleyball, football, football cheerleaders, all-state chorus, and oral interp all received this honor.

Dr. Kim Cypher, Special Education Director, reported on the Certified Needs Assessment process.

Sara Gates, Business Manager, reported that there will not be an election. Natalie Bertsch and Amy Howard will be returning for 3 year terms.

Dr. Charlene Crosswait, Superintendent, reported on COGNIA, the requisition process, and building repairs.

Motion by Howard, second by Schroeder to enter into executive session for the express purpose of personnel issues SDCL 1-25-2 (1) at 7:36 p.m. All voting aye.

President Bertsch declared return to regular session at 9:19 p.m.

Motion by Yost, second by Howard to enter into executive session for the express purpose of negotiations SDCL 1-25-2 (4) at 9:19 p.m. All voting aye.

President Bertsch declared return to regular session at 10:15 p.m.

Motion by Howard, second by Hurd to approve Lee Conkey as volunteer Track Coach for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Howard, second by Hurd to approve Trisha Teason as volunteer Track Coach for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Schroeder, second by Howard to accept the resignation of Sandra Greenough as Part-Time PE Teacher at the end of the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Regular Meeting March 8, 2021 Page 3

Motion by Yost, second by Caffee to accept the resignation of Deb Beilke as Skill Builders Teacher with commendation at the end of the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Mullaney to accept the resignation of Barb Jones as Elementary Teacher with commendation at the end of the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Howard, second by Yost to accept the resignation of Knute Reierson as Elementary Principal and Head Junior High Boys Basketball Coach with commendation at the end of the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Yost to offer the following administrative contracts with salary to be set at a later date:

Dr. Charlene Crosswait-Superintendent Steve Schumacher-Junior High and High School Principal Dr. Kim Cypher-Special Education Director Sara Gates-Business Manager All voting aye.

The next regular school board meeting is scheduled for Monday, April 12, 2021 at 6:30 p.m. in the elementary school library.

Motion by Yost, second by Howard to adjourn at 10:19 p.m. All voting aye.

Natal	e Bert	sch,	Presid	lent	
Board	l of Ed	lucati	ion		
Sara	Gates				